The Hit – The final here we come!

image

So, lucky me, after Samantha Mumba picked my song ‘Somebody Like Me’ it got to number 5 in the Irish charts!! I was gobsmacked. It also means as it was placed higher than Republic Of Loose’s ‘Thinking Of You’ written by David & Mark (excellent song by the way!) I am now into the final which takes place next Friday the 30th of August. Well done and thank you so much to everyone who supported us and downloaded our track! I hope you enjoyed it. It has been amazing the amount of best wishes and messages I have recieved over the last few weeks. Completely blown away.

Here is me and the other two songwriters Mark and David before we found out the chart placements in 2FM! …We were excited but nervous…

image

Being in the top 5 in the charts up there with Katy Perry, Ellie Goulding and Lady Gaga is pretty amazing! To be honest when they called it out I was stunned…the camera crew were expecting some big reaction but I actually just sat there in shock. It was only after a while and when I saw my boyfriend Cormac that it hit me. It is such a dream come true it was hard to take in. Yes I have been working hard for 10 years gigging, teaching, writing,  recording and releasing music but it has always been a slow progression compared to this. I have to hand it to VIP productions and The Hit. The concept and vision they had for this programme has been fantastic and I think any songwriter who has been involved in the show will say it is a huge oppertunity to get to the next level. For me it is a credible, worthwhile and fresh take on reality television. Here is me right after I heard the news!

image

Samantha Mumba, who has done an incredible job producing and singing my song, will be performing live along side The Stunning, Ryan O’Shaughnessy, Johnny Logan and either Mundy or Finbar Furey on the night of the final. I can’t wait! It’s going to be great fun no matter what happens. I think it will be down to a public vote on the night so please watch next Friday 30th on RTE 1 at 9.35pm. It’s bound to be a great show. If you think my song sung by Samantha is the best then please VOTE!!! Thank you.

Lastly…how mad is it that Ryan O’Shaughnessy is from Loughshinny who is also in the final, lives about 5mins up the road from me! Mental. His song ‘Who Do You Love?’ is a brilliant song too. Here is a pic of when I met Ryan in April at a broadcast of the Tubridy Show at Skerries Sailing Club.

image

Fingers crossed!!

Liz xx

Leave a Reply

